Free Consultation

 
FREE Consultation!
801-285-5550
Available 24/hrs, 7 days a week

Utah DUI Under 21 / Underage Drunk Driving

Underage Drunk Driving Charges - DUI Attorney UtahAlthough drivers under 21 account for approximately 10% of licensed drivers, 9.5% of Utah DUI arrests included drivers between 15 and 20 years old. While the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Utah is typically .08%, minors can be charged with an Under 21 for a BAC of .02% or higher and may face serious court-imposed penalties. In addition, a minor convicted of a Utah Under 21 DUI faces difficulty with future employment and education opportunities.

Utah Underage DUI Penalties

Minors charged with DUI under 21 face serious penalties including:

  • Jail time
  • Costly fines
  • License suspension
  • Child endangerment law violations (if minor passengers present)
  • Additional traffic violations (depending on what police saw)
  • Probation
  • Ignition Interlock Device
  • Insurance cancellation or high insurance premiums
  • Plus more

Fight Your Under 21 DUI Offense with an Experienced DUI Attorney

Because DUI cases typically involve scientifically-complex evidence, such as the field sobriety, breathalyzer and blood tests, you need an experienced underage DUI defense attorney in Utah who has the knowledge and experience to help you plan your Under 21 DUI defense strategy. Contact us today for a free DUI under 21 case evaluation or for more information on underage drunk driving charges in Utah.